Understanding the 4C’s Before Purchasing Diamond Rings Online

caratlane coupons

The purity or grade of the diamonds depends on 4 factors which are known as the 4 C’s. These include the colour, clarity, cut and carat weight of the diamond rings. The grading system is formulated by GIA and is standards across the world. It is crucial to know what these 4 Cs are and how it impacts the quality of the diamond before purchasing one.

 The first step before purchasing a diamond from reputable sites like Caratlane must be to understand its four C’s. Knowing this will give a better understanding of using the Caratlane coupons on the right products from portals like KuuPofy. Customers must apply the Caratlane coupon codeonly after reading about the 4 C’s.

  1. Colour

The most perfect diamond is colourless. They are the rarest and the most expensive ones. Therefore, the colour of the diamonds is the degree of its colourlessness. However, the majority of the diamonds possess varying degrees of yellow or brown. It is extremely difficult to spot colour with an untrained eye. In fact, people without gemological training find it almost impossible to see the differences in the top 5-6 colours in the case of mounted diamonds less than 1/2 carat in weight.

  • GIA colourscale:

Colorless Fancy Yellow

This is the GIA colour scale which is the standard colour scale used to calibrate the colour of diamonds across the globe. The scale starts from D (Colorless diamonds) and goes to Z (light yellow diamonds). Here is a table which depicts the exact colour for each letter:

D- F


G- J

Near colorless

K- M

Faint yellow

N- R

Very light yellow

S- Z

Light yellow



  1. Clarity

Clarity relates to the presence and visual appearances of inclusions and blemishes. Inclusions are the internal characteristics while blemishes are surface defects. Flawless diamonds are the most valuable and sought after.

  • GIA Clarity Grading Scale:

Flawless Diamonds   Visibly included


 The GIA Clarity Grading Scale goes from FL (Flawless) to 13 (Visibly included). However, clarity has a low impact on the beauty of a diamond up to grade I. The most popular clarity grades in India are IF to VS. Here is a table which depicts the exact category of each scale.






Internally Flawless


Very very slightly included

VS1- VS2

Very slightly included

SI1- SI2

Slightly included

I1- I3


  1. Cut

The cut refers to the proposition of the diamond and not the shape of it. Cut affects the diamond’s light return properties known as fire and scintillation. The cut is the most important C of all C’s as it has the greatest effect on the beauty of the diamonds. Poor cut dulls the brilliance of a diamond no matter how perfect its colour and clarity is. 

  • GIA Cut Grades:


Very GoodGoodFairPoor

 Excellent cut diamonds are the most brilliant ones as they typically have about 97% light return.

  1. Carat Weight

This is the weight of the diamond and determines the appearance and size of the jewellery. 1 carat is 200 mgs. 1 carat is usually subdivided into points or cents as most of the diamonds sold in the market weigh less than 1 carat. There are 100 cents in a carat. For example, if a diamond weights 3/4 carat, then it weighs 0.75 cents.

Knowing these 4 Cs is the key to purchasing the perfect diamond. This will help in using the Caratlane coupons on the right products.